MED2050 project

MED2050 may be a project for the future, but we are already operating daily for our convictions.
Discover all the news not to be missed to stay informed of our actions.

Introduction

1. Since the end of the 1970s, the Mediterranean countries have decided to cooperate in order to « to provide the responsible authorities and planners of the various countries of the Mediterranean region with information that will enable them to draw up plans to ensure sustained optimal socio-economic development without causing environmental degradation » and « to help the governments of the coastal states of the Mediterranean region to deepen their knowledge of the common problems they have to face both in the Mediterranean Sea and in its coastal areas » (Intergovernmental meeting, UNEP/IG.5/7, 1977).

2. In this context and in the framework of the implementation of Article 4 of the Barcelona Convention and the Mediterranean Strategy for Sustainable Development (MSSD), the Regional Activity Centre/Plan Bleu (Plan Bleu) has been mandated to « carry out analyses and prospective studies to help forge visions of the future as an aid to the decision-making process » and « to disseminate the findings of this work in various forms and through appropriate channels, including the regular publication of state of the environment and development reports and environment and development outlooks for the Mediterranean region » (Decision IG.19/5, 2009).

3. To date, the Plan Bleu has coordinated and published two main prospective reports « The Plan Bleu : Futures of the Mediterranean Basin » (1989) and « Mediterranean – Plan Bleu perspectives on environment and development » (2005). These reports have served as a reference for the preparation of environmental and sustainable development policies in the Mediterranean, including the MSDD. They have supported regional, national and sectoral planning in a variety of areas and have been cited on numerous occasions. While they are now useful as references, decision-makers and experts continue to request Plan Bleu to obtain information from these reports, in the absence of work meeting the same objectives.

4. The World Food Programme (WFP) Medium Term Strategy (MTS) 2016-2021 reiterates the objective of « Delivering knowledge-based estimates of the Mediterranean environment and development scenarios to support the work of decision-makers and stakeholders » (Decision IG.22/1). In order to implement this decision, the Contracting Parties included in the WFP Work Program and Budget for 2016-2017 the development of a « Roadmap for the preparation of the MED 2050 Report », as a specific core activity 1.4.1.3 (Decision IG.22/20).

5. In order to prepare this roadmap, Plan Bleu organized an expert workshop (December 2016), conducted a benchmark study on the strengths, weaknesses and gaps of 35 recent foresight studies in the Mediterranean region, and consulted national representatives and experts. The draft MED 2050 roadmap was presented and discussed at the Plan Bleu Focal Points Meeting (April 2017), the 17th meeting MSDD meeting (July 2017), the WFP Focal Points Meeting (September 2017) and the 20th Ordinary Meeting of the Contracting Parties (COP 20, Tirana, Albania, December 2017). The Contracting Parties welcomed this roadmap, adopted its Phase I and requested the Secretariat (Plan Bleu) to present the progress of Phase I at COP 21 to enable them to provide guidance for Phase II (Decision IG.23/4). This involves the preparation of a revised roadmap for Phase II. This document achieves that goal.

MED 2050: a project for the future

Plan Bleu has been entrusted by the Contracting Parties to the Barcelona Convention and by its previous activities, to carry out a new prospective exercise on the environment and development in the Mediterranean on the Horizon 2050. This exercise follows on from the foresight reports « The Plan Bleu : the future of the Mediterranean basin » of 1989 and « Mediterranean – Plan Bleu perspectives on environment and development » of 2005. Since then, the Mediterranean context has evolved considerably since the last Mediterranean Action Plan (MAP) foresight exercise in 2005.

The MED 2050 project is part of a vision of a prosperous and peaceful Mediterranean region, where people enjoy a high quality of life and where development takes into account the carrying capacity limits of healthy ecosystems. Following preparatory activities, MED 2050 is part of a short, medium and long term dynamic to achieve a sustainable future :

  • Intermediate horizon 2030 corresponding to the objectives of the 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) of the2030 Agenda.
  • Horizon 2050 corresponding to long-term issues such as climate change, possible ruptures in ecosystems and their economic and social consequences (consequences on agriculture, fishing, lifestyles, migration, urbanization, energy policies, etc.), and to identify the necessary transitions.

The MED 2050 roadmap is organized around four main activity modules, each with its own specific utility and methodology :

  • Module 1 : building the prospective base – past and future trends, weak signals and ruptures, data sheets
  • Module 2 : compare and share contrasting visions for the Mediterranean by 2050 – with a focus on youth visions
  • Module 3 : Designing scenarios – exploring possible futures to inform resilience policy development
  • Module 4 : co-constructing transition paths – guiding decision making towards alternative narratives of the future

MED 2050 : participatory and consultative project

Consultation

Plan Bleu consulted various Mediterranean stakeholders to identify national experiences and expectations and interested parties to participate in the MED 2050 project or to support regional, sub-regional and national workshops. In Phase I of MED 2050, which is part of a participatory strategy, it was essential for the Blue Plan to mobilize existing resources and build a network of Mediterranean futures.

Participation

At the time of the adoption of WFP Phase II in 1995, it was stated that « public information and participation are essential dimensions of the policy of sustainable development and environmental protection ». Also, at the 17th meeting of the Mediterranean Commission on Sustainable Development (MSCD), held in Athens on July 4-6, 2017, it called for more attention to participatory approaches involving broader stakeholder consultations, including through electronic tools (web platforms), to supplement the involvement of national governments. MED 2050 will therefore rely on an innovative participation strategy to make the initiative open and collaborative.

This participatory ambition is greatly activated on the occasion of Module 2 allowing to compare and share contrasting visions for the Mediterranean by 2050, especially with the visions of young people.

MED2050 project

MED2050 à beau être un projet d’avenir, nous opérons déjà quotidiennement pour nos convictions.
Découvrez toutes les actualités à ne pas manquer pour rester au courant de nos actions.

Introduction

1. Depuis la fin des années 1970, les pays méditerranéens ont décidé de coopérer afin de « mettre à la disposition des autorités responsables et des planificateurs des différents pays de la région méditerranéenne des renseignements qui leur permettent d’élaborer des plans propres à assurer un développement socio-économique optimal soutenu sans entraîner une dégradation de l’environnement » et « d’aider les gouvernements des Etats côtiers de la région méditerranéenne à approfondir leur connaissance des problèmes communs auxquels ils doivent faire face tant en mer Méditerranée que sur ses zones côtières » (Réunion intergouvernementale, UNEP/IG.5/7, 1977).

2. Dans ce contexte et dans le cadre de la mise en œuvre de l’article 4 de la Convention de Barcelone et de la Stratégie méditerranéenne pour le développement durable (SMDD), le Centre d’Activités Régionales/Plan Bleu (Plan Bleu) a été mandaté pour « réaliser des analyses et des études prospectives pour aider à forger des visions d’avenir en tant qu’aide au processus décisionnel » et « diffuser les conclusions de ces travaux sous les diverses formes et par les voies appropriées, y compris la publication régulière de rapports sur l’état de l’environnement et du développement et de perspectives sur l’environnement et le développement pour la région méditerranéenne » (Décision IG.19/5, 2009).

3. A ce jour, le Plan Bleu a coordonné et publié deux principaux rapports de prospective « Le Plan Bleu : Avenirs du Bassin Méditerranéen » (1989) et « Méditerranée – Les perspectives du Plan Bleu sur l’environnement et le développement » (2005). Ces rapports ont servi de référence pour la préparation de politiques environnementales et de développement durable en Méditerranée, y compris la SMDD. Ils ont appuyé la planification régionale, nationale et sectorielle dans des domaines variés, et ont été cités à de très nombreuses reprises. Alors qu’ils sont aujourd’hui utiles comme références, décideurs et experts continuent à solliciter le Plan Bleu pour obtenir des informations issues de ces rapports, en l’absence de travaux répondant aux mêmes objectifs.

4. La Stratégie à moyen terme (SMT) du PAM 2016-2021 réitère l’objectif de « Livrer des estimations basées sur les connaissances sur l’environnement méditerranéen et des scénarios de développement pour soutenir le travail des décideurs et des parties prenantes » (Décision IG.22/1). Afin de mettre en œuvre cette décision, les Parties Contractantes ont inclus dans le Programme de travail et budget du PAM pour 2016-2017 le développement d’une « feuille de route pour la préparation du Rapport MED 2050 », en tant qu’activité principale spécifique 1.4.1.3 (Décision IG.22/20).

5. Afin de préparer cette feuille de route, le Plan Bleu a organisé un atelier d’experts (décembre 2016), mené une étude de benchmark sur les forces, faiblesses et lacunes de 35 études de prospective récentes dans la région méditerranéenne et a consulté des représentants et experts nationaux. Le projet de feuille de route MED 2050 a été présenté et discuté lors de la Réunion des Points focaux du Plan Bleu (avril 2017), la 17ème Réunion de la CMDD (juillet 2017), la Réunion des Points focaux du PAM (septembre 2017) et la 20ème Réunion ordinaire des Parties contractantes (COP 20, Tirana, Albanie, décembre 2017). Les Parties contractantes ont accueilli favorablement cette feuille de route, adopté sa phase I et demandé au Secrétariat (Plan Bleu) de présenter les progrès de la phase I lors de la COP 21 afin de leur permettre de fournir des orientations pour la phase II (Décision IG.23/4). Ceci implique la préparation d’une feuille de route révisée pour la Phase II. Ce document présent réalise cet objectif.

MED 2050 : projet d’avenir

Le Plan Bleu a été chargé, par les Parties contractantes à la Convention de Barcelone et par ses précédentes activités, de réaliser un nouvel exercice de prospective sur l’environnement et le développement en Méditerranée à l’Horizon 2050. Cet exercice vient à la suite des rapports de prospective « Le Plan Bleu : avenir du bassin méditerranéen » de 1989 et « Méditerranée – Les perspectives du Plan Bleu sur l’environnement et le développement » de 2005. Depuis, le contexte méditerranéen a considérablement évolué depuis le dernier exercice de prospective du Plan d’Actions pour la Méditerranée (PAM) de 2005.

Le projet d’avenir MED 2050 s’insère dans une vision d’une région Méditerranée prospère et en paix, où les habitants bénéficient d’une grande qualité de vie et où le développement prend en compte les limites de la capacité de charge d’écosystèmes sains. À la suite d’activité préparatoires, MED 2050 s’inscrit dans une dynamique temporelle à court, moyen et long termes pour atteindre un futur durable :

  • Horizon intermédiaire 2030 correspondant aux objectifs aux 17 Objectifs de Développement Durable (ODD) de l’Agenda 2030.
  • Horizon 2050 correspondant aux enjeux de long terme comme le changement climatique, les ruptures possibles dans les écosystèmes et leurs conséquences économiques et sociales (conséquences sur l’agriculture, la pêche, les styles de vie, les migrations, l’urbanisation, les politiques de l’énergie, etc.), et d’identifier les transitions nécessaires.

 La feuille de route de MED 2050 s’organise autour de quatre principaux modules d’activités ayant chacun leur utilité et leur méthodologie spécifique :

  • Module 1 : construire le socle prospectif – tendances passées et futures, signaux faibles et ruptures, fiches techniques
  • Module 2 : comparer et partager des visions contrastées pour la Méditerranée à horizon 2050 – avec un accent mis sur les visions des jeunes
  • Module 3 : concevoir des scénarios – explorer les futurs possibles pour informer l’élaboration des politiques de résilience
  • Module 4 : co-construire des chemins de transition – guider la prise de décision vers des récits alternatifs du futur

MED 2050 : projet participatif et consultatif

Consultation

Le Plan Bleu a consulté diverses parties prenantes méditerranéennes afin d’identifier des expériences et attentes nationales et des parties intéressées pour participer au projet MED 2050 ou pour appuyer des ateliers régionaux, sous-régionaux et nationaux. Dans la phase I de MED 2050 qui s’inscrit dans une stratégie de participation, il a été primordial pour le Plan bleu de mobiliser des ressources existantes et de construire un réseau des avenirs méditerranéens.

Participation

Lors de l’adoption de la Phase II du PAM en 1995, il a été indiqué que « l’information et la participation du public sont des dimensions essentielles de la politique de développement durable et de protection de l’environnement ». Aussi, lors de la 17ème réunion de la Commission Méditerranéenne de Développement Durable (CMDD), organisée à Athènes du 4 au 6 juillet 2017, celle-ci a demandé de porter davantage d’attention à des approches participatives impliquant des consultations de parties prenantes plus larges, notamment à l’aide d’outils électroniques (plateformes web), en supplément de l’implication de gouvernements nationaux. MED 2050 prendra donc appui sur une stratégie de participation innovante afin de rendre l’initiative ouverte et collaborative.

Cette ambition participative est grandement actionnée à l’occasion du Module 2 permettant de comparer et partager des visions contrastées pour la Méditerranée à horizon 2050, notamment avec les visions des jeunes.